My Beloved As Seen Through Scripture

Taken from the Song of Solomon

190651_10150106890368583_7172201_n
Listen! My beloved! Look! Here he comes, leaping across the mountains, bounding over the hills. My beloved is like a gazelle or a young stag. Look!

Who is this coming up from the wilderness like a column of smoke, perfumed with myrrh and incense made from all the spices of the merchant? 6536_123340324383_7294700_n(Sometimes he smells like the great outdoors from his hours of fishing or yard work, haha!)
321630_10150329747963583_1342227067_nfacebookdan

Like an apple tree among the trees of the forest is my beloved among the young men. I delight to sit in his shade. Let him lead me to the banquet hall, and let his banner over me be love.404137_10150628190551213_1663470897_n

My beloved is radiant and ruddy, outstanding among ten thousand. His head is purest gold; his hair is wavy and black as a raven. His eyes are like doves by the water streams, washed in milk, mounted like jewels. His cheeks are like beds of spice yielding perfume. His lips are like lilies dripping with myrrh. His arms are rods of gold set with topaz. His body is like polished ivory decorated with lapis lazuli.  His legs are pillars of marble set on bases of pure gold. His appearance is like Lebanon, choice as its cedars. His mouth is sweetness itself; he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, this is my friend.

My beloved is to me a sachet of myrrh. My beloved is to me a cluster of henna blossoms. Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth—for his love is more delightful than wine.

King Solomon made for himself a carriage; he made it of wood from Lebanon. (My man made for himself a fishing kayak.)

How handsome you are, my beloved! Oh, how charming!

Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm; for love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave. It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame. Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot sweep it away. If one were to give all the wealth of one’s house for love, it would be utterly scorned.2414_53086483582_7569_n

Come, my beloved, let us go to the countryside, let us spend the night in the villages. (The mountains or the beach will do, too!)

Come away, my beloved, and be like a gazelle or like a young stag on the spice-laden mountains.

Take me away with you—let us hurry!

http://sherriwilsonjohnson.com/

Leave a Reply

