My Husband Never Changes!

…and that’s a good thing!danandsherri%20001

When we started dating in 1986, there were a few things about my man that stuck out more than just his ability to “tear up” his electric guitar, his charm, or his good looks.

These things were things that my former beaus had never exhibited. Things that a woman needs in a husband.

They are what made me make him my husband in 1988.  And thankfully, he still exhibits these qualities today. What are they?

  1. He loved and still loves the Lord more than himself and more than me
  2. He was and is a gentleman
  3. He was and is spiritually knowledgeable
  4. He was and is fun to be with
  5. He didn’t and doesn’t have disgusting habits
  6. He had and still has a great work ethic
  7. He was and is committed to me and loyal to me
  8. He gave and still gives me his heart daily

There are many more things that I could list that will probably pop into my head as soon as I press PUBLISH.

I didn’t list things like “being a good dad” because he wasn’t one until two years after we were married.

404137_10150628190551213_1663470897_nI also didn’t mention “spends lots of money on me” because he was a poor college student when we first got together. I’ve never measured his love for me based on how much money he spends because we’ve chosen a lifestyle that doesn’t often afford luxuries. But I can say that if I needed something, my husband would gladly spend our last dollar to get it for me. He’d willingly give up something he wanted so I could have something I needed.

I guess each of us could always find something in a spouse that we would like to change but the things I’ve listed above are qualities that make a man a keeper and that outweigh anything negative.

As part of the 40-Day Respect Dare by Nina Roesner  I’m doing, I challenge you to find some positive things in your spouse that haven’t changed over the years that cancel out some of the negatives that life has heaped upon your marriage. Choose to dig deep and see your husband for the young, handsome, fit “rock star” that’s still inside of him. (Inspired by Dare #8)

Philippians 1:9-11 – And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “My Husband Never Changes!

  1. Phyllis Land January 4, 2013 at 6:32 pm Reply

    Since we are coming up on 48 years of marriage, I think I’ll keep my hubby! There are times I wonder why, but when I sit alone with the Father, and see him through His eyes, I realize that he is in my life for a purpose and that God has placed him here to help mold me into the woman He desires me to become. If I didn’t have those days that I ask myself, “Exactly why did you get married?” I wouldn’t have those wonderful times spent with Jesus where He gently reminds me of the preciousness of His creation, and how he is trying as hard to please me as I am trying to please him; and how important it is to just give each other some slack. He also reminds me that all I need is found in Him, not my husband, and any expectations my husband might not meet aren’t his to meet anyway. That privilege belongs to God and God alone, and it is in seeking Him that that intimate, personal relationship is built between He and I. It is learning from my Daddy that teaches me how to be that wife that my husband needs, and how I can forgive, overlook, excuse, etc. anything “I” might see as a flaw, and love like Jesus’ loves me. What a wonderful, loving Teacher.
    phyllis

Leave a Reply

