When God Seems Silent

“God’s timing is always perfect.”

“God always provides.”

“Just have faith.”

Have you ever been told something like that when you’ve been waiting for something? Or how about when you have an urgent need or sickness? Have you ever said those things to someone?

Well, I’ve heard those things and I’ve said those things before.

And I believe them.

God is always faithful to supply the things we need exactly when we need them—according to His will and for His purpose. Philippians 4:19 says: And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

He is always with us. Hebrews 13:5 says: Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

And He doesn’t give us more than we can handle—with His help. But it sure may seem like He does sometimes. This applies to temptation and trials but it doesn’t mean we’ll never have issues that are over our heads or even life-threatening. Life is full of faith-building exercises or else our faith would never grow. I mean, who would choose to go through something terrible?

The question that has been on my mind these days is: When God doesn’t provide something that I feel I most urgently need in the time frame that I feel I need it, will I still believe, have faith, praise Him, give Him the glory even for the waiting or suffering I’m having to go through?

The answer? A resounding YES!

This week some very large bills did not get paid. Up until this Sunday, God has provided the money we have needed for our bills on or before the day we needed them. We committed to becoming debt free several years ago and even during a nine-month unemployment period, He provided.

We have done without MANY wants but our NEEDS have always been met. I’ve testified over and over that I wasn’t going to worry about the house payment because “God always provides”. 

But this week He didn’t.

My husband started a new job a few weeks ago and so we have to wait for his first paycheck. Because of the new job, he’s unable to do the handyman work he’s been doing for the last few months. So we gave up instant funds for a more secure job.

In this wait, funds that normally would have gone toward bills have had to be reserved for gas money to get him to and from work. His first check comes this week but it will not be for a full pay period because he didn’t start on a Monday. That check will cover a portion of what is past due but will not touch things that will be due before the next paycheck. Things like car insurance that must be paid and which come out of the checking account automatically. Things like groceries and gas for the next two weeks. The power, which will get cut off, leaving me unable to do my part-time job.

I may be a published author but I am far, far, far from being a Nicholas Sparks. Royalty checks come every six months, if you’re lucky, and you never know how much they will be. So even though I am polishing my fourth novel and about to start revisions on my third, have just acquired an agent who will help me get closer to the Nicholas Sparks status (haha, I’m dreaming), I still work a part-time job and am looking for more work. Looking for work I can do from home that will fit into my areas of giftedness and which will allow me to continue to work my part-time job and pursue my writing dreams without interference.

Circumstances that were beyond our control have placed us in a temporary position of having to do without, having to say “No” to a lot of things that most people consider part of everyday living, having to borrow money from our own child to pay emergency vet bills. Ugh!

So the question still remains: Will I keep praising Him and giving Him glory for not answering my prayer to pay our bills? Will I say thank you when I have a computer crash and lose everything? When my brakes fail on my car? When…

Yes! Because eventually He will provide. I thank Him even now in advance for the provision. As a friend reminded me this week—I will praise Him just like Joseph, who knew a famine was coming and who knew that God would provide. If you look around, He’s providing even now.

I came to this conclusion last week after hearing the news of the death of the mom of one of my son’s friends. She was my age. Had experienced a great day of church and family and then went to sleep that night to wake with her Lord. She did not know when she rested her head on the pillow that she would not get up the next morning to get her kids ready for school, make dinner plans, go off to work, etc. She assumed she would be there that evening and the next day.

But she wasn’t.

But even though she was gone God still provided for her family. He provided loved ones to come alongside them and bring them food, cry with them, make them laugh, and just lift them up when they needed it the most.

At her funeral, they sang the song His Eye is on the Sparrow, one of my dad’s favorites.

Luke 12:6-8 says: Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. “I tell you, whoever publicly acknowledges me before others, the Son of Man will also acknowledge before the angels of God.

So when I woke this morning, with breath in my body, ready to go to Bible study with the ladies from my church, and care for my little puppy who has been sick this week, and scrounge around in the pantry for hopefully another meal this evening, I thanked God for another chance to bring Him glory and honor and praise. To hopefully pull myself up out of the pit that I was in yesterday and to simply thank Him. He has provided so many things for me that if I take my eyes off the bills and the other things that need to be met, the things that have no eternal significance, the things that will not be here in 100 years, I will see that there is so much evidence of Him in my life I can’t help but praise Him.

What about you? Ever felt like this?

http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1211065

4 thoughts on “When God Seems Silent

  1. JLBCreatives September 19, 2012 at 11:11 pm Reply

    Amazing words in a very troubled time…thanks so much for sharing, and caring. Much love and prayers from our family to yours. ~Janet~

  2. Sherri Wilson Johnson September 20, 2012 at 12:50 am Reply

    Thank you, Janet! Prayers always coveted!

  3. Rosie Cochran September 21, 2012 at 2:23 am Reply

    Thanks for your transparency and trust in God despite the circumstances. I know it’s semantics, but when the trials pile on, instead of looking at all the trials God is “dumping” on me, I like to view them as trials He has “entrusted” to me.
    It’s like you said, He has promised that we can do ALL things through Him. Not on our own accord. On His accord.
    Yes, He gives us more than we can handle on our own so we see our desperate need of Him. And He entrusts these trials to His precious children that His glory and strength might shine through. Shine, girl, shine! 🙂

  4. Sherri Wilson Johnson September 21, 2012 at 3:27 am Reply

    Thank you so much for sharing! I know you have had your share of trials, girl!

Leave a Reply

