MY PERFECT VALENTINE!

My how time flies! And yet, I still remember what I was doing twenty-five years ago today…

In June of 1986, I reached a point in my life where I was frustrated about being alone. I wanted a husband. I wanted the man God had for me. I wanted someone to whom I could be his other half.

The problem was: my world was very small. I worked in the corporate world and the only male Christians in my office were already married or were clearly just friends. The others were non-believers—many of them were married creeps.

So I was on a mission. I refused to be left behind. I knew there was someone out there for me. I trusted God to provide him but I also believed that I needed to take a step in the right direction. I needed to be like Ruth and put myself in Boaz’s field.

Since the pond I was swimming in was pretty much dried up, I figured I was going to have to find a new one. The fishermen on its banks were not the kind whose hooks I wanted to bite. These guys didn’t seem to care what kind of fish they caught. I wanted to be “the big one” ….every fisherman’s dream. I needed a choosey fisherman.

Going to bars was not an option for me, as I did not drink alcohol and I highly doubted that my man would be there. My church (where my dad preached) was small and mainly consisted of older folks, therefore, my Mr. Right was not there. So much to my father’s disappointment, I found a new pond. I made the decision to leave his church and go to my sister’s church, where my brother-in-law was the youth pastor. My sister had a friend who wanted to introduce me to a friend of her husband. Cool!

So I donned my pale yellow linen suit where the pencil skirt came just above my knees, my black silk blouse with a bow tied at the neck, and my black high-heeled pumps. Man! I wish I had a picture of that getup. I was dressed to go fishing—wait, I was the fish, right? Oh, and I was also there to hear a word from the Lord, especially because I knew my daddy would ask me what the sermon was about when I got home.

I went to my sister’s Sunday school class and checked out the guy I was there to meet. Eh, he was okay, but not really my style. I’m sure he was a nice fellow but my toes didn’t curl. Ya know?

Then after Sunday school, I ran into an old friend. He actually grew up at my dad’s church but his family left a while before Dad took the church. We ran into each other occasionally at the annual Homecoming/Revival meetings, funerals or weddings. So it was good to see him again—Danny Johnson. We hugged and said our hellos and I noticed how great he smelled. Clearly, he had grown up since I had seen him last. He was so friendly but quickly moved on to church service.

After church ended, I stood outside with my sister in the Georgia heat. I don’t really remember, but I think we were probably saying our goodbyes when HE came walking across the parking lot. This time I got a better look at him. He was decked out in a mint-colored cotton suit (Don Johnson/Miami Vice style) with the sleeves rolled up to his elbows and had white leather woven dress shoes on. He was tanned and wore a necklace and ring of gold. He had a bright, beautiful smile and sparkling brown eyes. He was the complete opposite of all the guys I had every liked. He was Ooo-wee!

So my sister yells out to him, “Hey Danny, when ya goin’ to take my sister out?” Imagine how totally embarrassed I was. I wanted to crawl under the pavement. However, he looked me square in the eye and said, “I don’t know. When do you want to go?” I don’t even remember what my response was except I am sure a giggle escaped my lips.

Long story short, we had our first date the following week! I came home that night and told my mom that he was the one I was going to marry. He was everything I was looking for and more than I even thought to ask for. Oh, and his sister is the one who had the friend to introduce me to that Sunday morning. Isn’t that funny? She’s now my sister-in-law.

On Valentine’s Day 1987, seven and a half months later, he asked me to marry him at a romantic restaurant in Atlanta. (Yes, I went to the salon on my way home from work and got a haircut and a manicure done in anticipation of the evening’s events–just in case.)

Girls, it’s worth the wait to wait for God’s best!

That night was twenty-five years ago today! We married in 1988 and have two awesome children. God has been so good to us throughout the years and I look forward to at least fifty more!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “MY PERFECT VALENTINE!

  1. Cathy West February 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm Reply

    Sherri, what a wonderful romantic story!! And the pictures are just amazing. Oh, I miss the ’80’s!! LOL!! My husband and I celebrated our 25th last June. It really is worth the wait for God’s best. Blessings to you both today!!

    • Sherri Wilson Johnson February 14, 2012 at 4:21 pm Reply

      I’m so glad you liked it! I had fun digging those pictures out. I just love my hair then. 🙂 Happy 25th+ to you and yours too!

  2. Barbara Wiley February 14, 2012 at 8:18 pm Reply

    I don’t think I had ever heard how you and Danny met. So happy for both of you. I can’t believe it has been 25 years though. Isn’t God good to give us who we need, especially when we have prayed for God’s choice of our mate. I met my husband on a blind date 48 years ago on Valentine’s Day. I was only 15 and had recently become serious about my relationship with the Lord. I had prayed that God would prepare the person he had for me to marry and prepare me for him. Three months later, I met Roger. It’s awesome what God will do when you trust Him. Who would really believe that at 15 I could meet the one for me and know without a doubt that he was the ONE! God bless you and Danny and both your families. They have all been a blessing in my life in knowing them.

    • Sherri Wilson Johnson February 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm Reply

      I love your story, Barbara!!! I can’t believe you were fifteen! I do believe God prepares someone special for us and if we ask him and we seek his will in our lives, he will bring us together.

  3. […] There were a few more frogs along the way and the heart-breaking realization that the fellow I’d liked since middle school—the one I picked out for my husband—never would want me for his own. By that point, I was pretty convinced that there wasn’t a man for me. The non-Christian boys were losers and the Christian boys didn’t seem that much better. (If you’re interested in my happily ever after, you can read my story here: sherrijinga.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/my-perfect-valentine […]

  4. […] Each of us has different views depending on our own backgrounds. I’ve already spoken here about my views and about how we’ve raised our children. But one area we should all be able to agree on […]

  5. […] more of my 2012 Valentine’s […]

Leave a Reply

