Ten Years Ago, I Lost My Last Parent

It’s hard to believe that ten years ago today, my dad passed away from melanoma that spread to his brain and all over his body. He was a Southern Baptist preacher of a small church that, in his eyes, was the grandest congregation in the world. He devoted his life to telling his people (and anyone he came in contact with) about Jesus.

He was ahead of his time, having owned one of the first home computers. We like to think that he would have an iPad, iPhone, a Mac, and would be the king of texting, tweeting, and Facebook, if he was still here. He would be so proud that I reached my goal of being published. He would be so happy that Dan and I are still together and that we’ve raised two well-rounded, God-loving kids. He’d be really into Kayla’s photography and would probably monopolize Seth’s every waking moment with computer programing and all kinds of techy things.

Dad, we sure miss you!

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Ten Years Ago, I Lost My Last Parent

  1. JLBCreatives January 10, 2012 at 2:23 pm Reply

    What a beautiful tribute, from a beautiful daughter. Much love and prayers for you and your family. I’m certain your daddy is proud.

  2. Barbara Wiley January 10, 2012 at 3:44 pm Reply

    I remember your Dad too, Sherri. He was such a wonderful person, You never stop missing your parents, but PTL we will see them again one day. Your parents would definitely be proud of you and all of your family.

  3. Rosie Cochran January 13, 2012 at 10:05 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing, Sherri. Cherish all those memories.

  4. Cathy West February 1, 2012 at 9:09 pm Reply

    Hi Sherri! I totally get this. My mom has been gone 11 years and I miss her – it would be great to still have her here to share in my journey, but it is not to be. Your dad sounds a lot like mine! My dad had the first Apple in Bermuda, and at 84 he has all the gadgets, on Facebook etc…!! Enjoy your wonderful memories!

    • Sherri Wilson Johnson February 1, 2012 at 10:20 pm Reply

      Well, we certainly have more than writing in common, do we not? So sorry for your loss. Moms are hard to replace!

Leave a Reply

