Well, I Made it Past November

I kind of held my breath during the month of November. It’s always been a strange month for me. November 1, 2000, I nearly died in surgery. November 8, 2004, I had a massive hysterectomy. November 15, 2006, I had an emergency gallbladder removal. So up until November 22nd of this year, I kept thinking…”Am I going to have surgery this year?” It seems like my surgeries have been one week apart each time and I was hoping nothing would come up since we still don’t have health insurance. I started noticing aches and pains in my body and started speculating what might have to be removed this time. Oh, the power of our minds.

My son tells me I’m superstitious. I deny it. But maybe I am. So I began thinking positively that I would not have surgery. And I didn’t. Of course, it has nothing to do with how positive my thinking was. It simply has to do with the fact that God is all powerful! He is all knowing. He knows we don’t have health insurance. He is in control of my life. He allowed me not to have surgery this November and I praise Him for it. But I know if I had had to have surgery, He would have paid for it. He’s good like that.

So, on the back side of the month of thankfulness, I can say that I am thankful for many, many things in my life. But one thing I am thankful for is that I did not have to go under the knife or the laparotomy or whatever they call it these days…and that I was here to pray for others who were going through medical and other issues.

Have you thanked HIM today?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

