If I Could Ask For More of Something

If I could ask for more of something it would not be for more money, with which to purchase more earthly treasures. It would not be for more Bibles, for the Lord knows I have plenty of those sitting around the house just gathering dust (and needing to be shared with others) from years of being a Christian. It would not be for more clothes, for the two pairs of jeans and ten or so shirts and three pair of shoes I own will suffice. It would not be for more credit for the things I have done, for staying out of the limelight isn’t such a bad thing. It would not be for more children to teach, for my fourteen years of homeschooling was enough. It would not be for more hands so that I could get tasks done more efficiently. It would not be for more time. It would not be for more energy. More sleep. More friends.

It could be for more humility. More thankfulness. Or even more love. But right now, that’s not what I would ask for. It would be for more ears so that I could listen to the precious voices of my husband and two children all at once and never miss a single thing they ever say. To be able to hear every utterance that comes out of their mouths while they are here with me on this earth would be a precious gift.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

