All Friends Should Be Like Old Friends

This past weekend, I spoke at a retreat for homeschool moms. I drove the four hours to South Georgia by myself. That was a fun time of listening to worship music and of praying and just talking to my little lonesome self. This is the second year that I have spoken for this group of ladies. When I arrived, I felt like I was at home. Not my real home. Not my hometown. Just home. I got hugs and greetings and it made me feel special even though I was just one of them. They celebrated my birthday with a cake and gifts and let me ramble on and on about my homeschooling (and life) journey without falling asleep or leaving. So it was a pretty cool weekend all around.

Last night, I went to the first meeting of the year for my homeschool group. Since I’m no longer homeschooling, normally I wouldn’t have been there. But I am a founding member of the group and I am the first one to have graduated all of her children (albeit there were only two so that may not be such an accomplishment to some of you) so the group wanted me to remain as the first alumni member. When I walked in the door, I was instantly greeted and hugged and made to feel as just as much a part of the group as I have always been.

I got to thinking about church friends on the way home. Do church friends make you feel this way? Like even though you’re not going there anymore you’re still just as welcome at a small gathering of the ladies? Or if you’re new, do you feel just as welcomed as the regulars? If not, they should. Friends are friends and if they don’t treat you like an old friend when they see you, then they’re not friends.

Have you ever felt like Job in Job 19:19? It says: “All my intimate friends detest me; those I love have turned against me.” I hope not.

I used to be guilty of paying more attention to my new friends than my old. Now I am more often too guilty of paying more attention to my old friends than my new. I hope and pray that as time continues to pass by my way that I will make new friends, keep the old ones, and treat them all like they are my best friends!

Proverbs 18:24: One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

Proverbs 12:26a: The righteous choose their friends carefully.

1 Samuel 20:42: Jonathan said to David, “Go in peace, for we have sworn friendship with each other in the name of the LORD, saying, ‘The LORD is witness between you and me, and between your descendants and my descendants forever.’” Then David left, and Jonathan went back to the town.

6 thoughts on “All Friends Should Be Like Old Friends

  1. Angiengie B. August 17, 2011 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Love it!! I am so glad you were with us last night!

  2. sonyadotsonSonya August 17, 2011 at 7:41 pm Reply

    I needed this today…. This morning I realized I know a lot of people but am close to no one. It sends me into the dumps quick. I had lunch with one of the very few gal’s I consider a close friend later. Then when I got home, I got a call from a lady I met about 6 months ago…
    I am blessed with God’s activity in my life and I have to realize He is in the ‘building’ process, of the true and right friends in my life. A work in progress….

    Love you! and thanks for the post!

    Sonya

    • Sherri's Thoughts August 17, 2011 at 9:44 pm Reply

      Oh, dear sister, I think this is the curse of the writer. 🙂 We know bunches of people but never really feel like very many of them KNOW us. I consider myself blessed to know you and am free anytime to visit!

  3. Phyllis Land August 18, 2011 at 12:42 am Reply

    Sherri:

    What good words. It’s true, it makes you feel so loved when those you are with greet you with hugs and kind words. I’ve so enjoyed the friendship shared with Libby and Jim, not only because I love them, but also because they have shared their family with us; and we have all become friends. I always enjoy seeing you guys and Shonna. We always have such a good time.

    I know it was special to you to have the retreat ladies welcome you with open arms and then again with the homeschool group that you helped to start and build. God gives us so many good things and people in our lives. As I’ve grown older, I’ve come to realize that it’s people that are important, not things, or status, or anything. I pray that as I interact with others they will smell the sweet fragrance of Christ when I respond to them.

    Blessings,
    Phyllis

    • Sherri's Thoughts August 18, 2011 at 1:50 pm Reply

      Phyllis, there truly is nothing like a true friend!! I’m so glad Libby has had you and that we’ve been blessed to have you as part of the family!

Leave a Reply

