A Text From God?

Today, I was praying. Praying for my friends. Praying for my family. Praying for our commitment to be debt free in three years. Praying that God would bless my writing and would use me to further His Kingdom. I committed to do whatever He wants. I asked Him to make it clear whether I am supposed to be just a writer (my first novel is due out soon through OakTara Publishing) or whether I am supposed to be a writer AND a speaker. And I asked Him to make it abundantly clear to me what He wants.

About an hour later, I received a text. I thought it was from my daughter because I was in the middle of texting with her and it showed up in my inbox as being from her. I opened the text and read it. It simply said “BOTH”. Nothing more than “BOTH”. I wasn’t sure what my daughter meant by that but I proceeded to read her other texts. I then went back to my inbox to re-read the text and it was gone. My daughter said she did not text that to me. None of my other friends that I had been communicating with text me that either.

So was the mysterious and disappearing text an answer to my prayer? Am I to be both a writer and a speaker? I’m kind of in awe.

UPDATE: The following day, I received the same text again when I prayed about something else. Turns out, my daughter had previously sent me that text but not when I received it. It must have been floating in cyberspace waiting for just the right moment for me to receive it. I love how God chooses to communicate with us.

Tagged: , , ,

10 thoughts on “A Text From God?

  1. Debra July 6, 2011 at 3:44 am Reply

    OMG that is so amazing! Praise Him!

    • Sherri's Thoughts July 6, 2011 at 3:53 am Reply

      Tell me about it! Never had anything happen like that before.

  2. Barbara July 6, 2011 at 2:40 pm Reply

    Wow! I think that was your answer from the Lord. You are a wonderful writer! I am sure you would be a great speaker too. God will open up the right doors for you.

    • Sherri's Thoughts July 6, 2011 at 3:25 pm Reply

      Thank you, Barbara! I have done several speaking engagements a year for the past few years but not super steady. That’s why I prayed about it. I either like to do things full-force or not at all. So I guess I had better buckle up, huh? 🙂

  3. LoriLynn Barth July 6, 2011 at 5:34 pm Reply

    i would say you have your answer pretty clear then.

    • Sherri's Thoughts July 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm Reply

      It’s still so strange. That text is not in my inbox. I keep thinking maybe I was dreaming. Haha. If my son had not been in the room with me hearing me talk about the meaning of a text that just said “both” I would think I dreamed the whole thing.

    • Sonya July 6, 2011 at 9:21 pm Reply

      I agree!

  4. Amy Friendlyshoe July 6, 2011 at 5:40 pm Reply

    That is so cool!

  5. Sonya July 6, 2011 at 9:20 pm Reply

    exciting times!!!

Leave a Reply

