Same Life, New Story by Jan Silvious

Same Life, New Story – Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life by Jan Silvious is probably the most inspiring book I’ve read in a long time. The title says it all. This is not a “power of positive thinking” type book but a book that helps you see that you can either let your circumstances keep you down or you can choose to push through them, embrace them, and learn from them. Many of Jan Silvious’s experiences in life mirror experiences I have had and I found myself nodding my head in agreement with her words. Because I am not a big crier, I often feel like others may think I’m out of touch with reality or that I suppress my feelings and, therefore, do not deal with issues in my life. But after reading this book, I realized that what I do is embrace each trial and ask God to lead me through it and teach me what he would have me to learn.

I love the concept she uses in the book about writing your story and rewriting your story and how you have the power to start a new chapter when life gets you down. She uses stories from ten women in the Bible who persevered through difficult times in their lives and glorified God in the end. Jan also uses stories from people that she has met along the way and shares how they have come through their trials. She also includes stories of women who have faced trials and not come out so good in the end.

This book is subtitled “A ten-week Bible study for women” but I chose to read it alone instead of with a group. I also did not take ten weeks to read it because it was so good. I simply flew through it!

I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as a part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I review for BookSneeze®

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Same Life, New Story by Jan Silvious

  1. Jan Silvious February 17, 2011 at 2:59 pm Reply

    Sherri, this is a great review from a kindred spirit. Thank you for reading ‘Same Life New Story’. It’s always an adventure to ‘live’ each day!

    • Sherri's Thoughts February 17, 2011 at 3:26 pm Reply

      Thank you, Jan! I’m glad you found the review! I even requested to follow you on Twitter because I was so excited as I was reading the book that I wanted to tweet to you how much it meant to me! It truly spoke to me and helped me give guidance to my young adult daughter, as well.

  2. littlesanctuary February 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm Reply

    Great review! Her books are always so practical. Big Girls Don’t Whine is great, too.

Leave a Reply

