Unto the Hills by Billy Graham: A review

Unto the Hills by Billy Graham is a 365-day devotional, which was originally published in 1986. It was rereleased in 2010. I believe that Mr. Graham has done a fine job with this devotional. It is simplistic, yet thought-provoking. It begins with the assumption that the reader has not accepted Christ as Savior and quickly provides the remedy for that. Then with each subsequent devotional, he plunges deeper into the Christian walk, touching on the areas that Christians struggle with on a daily basis, encouraging them to walk closely with the Lord seeking his will for their lives.

I have always thought very highly of Billy Graham and remember going to see him as a child. He is a very Godly man, who inspires Christians to walk with the Lord daily and also shares unabashedly with non-Christians the importance of giving their lives over to Jesus. So when I saw this book come up for review, I truly wanted to read it and I am glad I did.

Mr. Graham explains that life is not going to be without pain or suffering but that with God, we can get through anything. He does touch on sin quite a bit, which can be convicting. However, it is only through confessed sin that we can continue to grow closer to the Lord. So I believe that although this devotional may step on some toes, Mr. Graham does so with love in his heart and with the hopes that the reader will turn toward the Father and walk with the light of God shining upon him. I would recommend this book as a gift for a new believer or for someone who may have strayed away from the faith and who needs a little encouragement to get back on the road. The devotionals can also be used as a witnessing tool because they are so life-applicable. I did not personally receive an in-depth spiritual challenge from reading this devotional but I did feel loved and comforted by God and reaffirmed that he will always be with me.

I received a complimentary copy of Unto the Hills by Billy Graham from Booksneeze, http://www.BookSneeze®.com , a book review bloggers program. I was not compensated in any way for this review. I am disclosing this review, which completely is my own opinion, in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

