A Message from Proverbs today

I try to read a chapter of Proverbs everyday.  Some days I read something else and then go back and read several chapters at a time.  Today, I started over with Proverbs for the month…a day behind already. 😉

Proverbs 1:8-9 says: Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.  They will be a garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.

I’ve always read these verses and thought to myself, “Yeah, listen to your father. Don’t forsake your mother’s teaching!”  As a homeschooling mother, you know, I thought these verses were like a ball in my court.

Today, as I read this, I thought, “Hey, you know, that’s a lot of pressure on a parent.”  I mean, we have the responsibility of actually giving the children some instruction to listen to and some teaching that’s worth not forsaking, right?  Wow!  It really makes you stop and think about what you’re doing on a daily basis; how you’re walking with the Lord; is it something the kids would want to mimic?

I pray that as I seek the Lord daily, he’ll light the way for my kids to follow in my footsteps. Hopefully, my footsteps will be inside the footsteps of Jesus.

 

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “A Message from Proverbs today

  1. Paul May 5, 2008 at 7:55 am Reply

    Well said…there is nothing more to say.

Leave a Reply

