Why does Sam’s Club use those milk jugs?

I went to Sam’s Club the other day to buy milk and a few other items. I haven’t been in there in a while.  At first, I thought they were out of milk and then I realized that the jugs were just shaped differently than usual.  They are stackable.  That’s a cool feature.  But we are having the hardest time pouring milk out of those things. We’re losing milk down the side every time we pour.  Dollars are dribbling away.

I like the stackable nature of the jug, but the lid takes too many turns to get it off and the pouring is really difficult because the mouth is so wide. I’m almost 42 years old so I should be able to operate a milk jug correctly, but every time I pour milk all over the place.  What’s the deal?  Has anyone else had this problem?

So, this problem really has nothing to do with anything, except that it irritates me when I go to the frig to get milk. I can’t wait until those four gallons are gone so I can go buy normal milk jugs.

I guess this could be compared to our spiritual walks, somehow.  Like, when God wants us to do something for him and we spread ourselves all over the place…everywhere except for where he intended us to be?  Maybe that’s it.  Well, that’s a waste.  We need to be determined to hit the mark God wants us to; the perverbial glass so to speak.  Don’t spill yourself all over the counter.  😉

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Why does Sam’s Club use those milk jugs?

  1. brumbemom May 1, 2008 at 11:49 am Reply

    Hello, my friend hello. Sorry, it was Neil Diamond week this week on Idol…..Isn’t that one of his songs?!? Any-hoo, we always buy our milk from Sam’s and to tell you the truth, I have never noticed anything odd about the jugs. I guess some of us are just more skilled than others when it comes to pouring milk 😉 Love ya!

  2. Kim May 2, 2008 at 12:54 am Reply

    I think the new milk jugs look like those large containers of bubbles you see at Wal-Mart.

  3. sherrijinga May 2, 2008 at 2:25 pm Reply

    They do look like those large containers of bubbles!!!

    And, maybe, it does take someone really skilled to use them. I thought I was safe this morning when I added milk to my coffee because the gallon was almost empty. But NOOOOOOOO! The milk came flying out of there like a pinball being released from it’s slot in a pinball machine. Milk overflowed from my cup and went all over the counter. Why, oh why, must this happen to me?

    I guess I could have used that as a spiritual demonstration of my cup overflowing, huh?

  4. Bunny May 7, 2008 at 10:13 pm Reply

    We also do not like the jugs. I think the trick is to put the cup right up to curve. Since I have done that I don’t spill quite as much.

  5. sherrijinga May 13, 2008 at 2:08 pm Reply

    I got an email back from Sam’s Customer Service Department apologizing for my inconvenience and saying that they have had numerous complaints about the jugs. 😉 That made me feel better. Anyway, they changed them in an effort to save money (cheaper product), but said they were working on getting the problem corrected. I’m so glad I could do my part in making the world a better place. Hee Hee

Leave a Reply

