Stewardship

I’ve been trying hard to be a good steward of everything God has given me:  time, talents, money, etc.  Sometimes it’s so easy to fall into the trap of expending all of your energy and resources on things that aren’t best for you.  Sometimes it takes a while for you to recognize that you’re not using everything to the best that it could be.
I was recently invited to speak at a convention that I spoke at last year.  Although this was a growing experience for me and quite enjoyable, it was not a financially profitable experience.  This was a small conference with only a few known exhibitors.  The turnout was low due to various factors.  I hesitated returning to this conference without first knowing what other exhibitors would be there, who the other speakers were, and how much advertising had been done.  This year it seemed the coordinators had done more advertising, but there would still be no guarantee of a big turn out.  I know it’s not all about the money, but I began weighing the costs (literally) to determine if it was something I could do again.  I deliberated and prayed and sought advice.  I know it shouldn’t be such a hard decision, but it is.  You see, I do not want to cause any further debt on my family where launching the ministry is concerned.  I do not feel it is right to spend money that we really do not have on lodging, gas, food, and the exhibit booth and risk not even breaking even.  Forgive me if that sounds selfish.

Today, I resolved that I would not participate this year.  I’m okay with the fact that this may not be the right time for such a thing. Possibly I’m not even supposed to be working exclusively with the homeschool world.  I feel it is time to rest in the Lord, continue to write what he gives me, and watch him move.

Well……….This afternoon, I received an email that a popular homeschool catalog wants to carry three of my items.  Imagine my shock!  I couldn’t help but laugh inside because God’s timing is so funny.  I feel like he was waiting on me to make the decision about whether or not I would bring further debt on my family (just so I could go speak at a convention and promote myself) before opening up another door.  Isn’t God good?

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Stewardship

  1. brumbemom April 14, 2008 at 6:56 pm Reply

    Well, well, my friend emerges from blogging oblivion. 😉 That was a nice post and congratulations on the “open door”. Sometimes God cracks me up, He can be so confusing, but then it is like, “oh, now I see what you are doing!”

  2. Sherri Johnson April 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm Reply

    Yes, I raised my head above the water just long enough to blog a little bit. But, I’ve been bobbing ever since. 🙂

    God is really, really funny!!! Don’t you just love him?

Leave a Reply

